Trick or Treat? I love it when this happens!!! (UPDATED 11/12/11)

UPDATE: 11/12/2011

1) I NEED TO MAKE SOMETHING PERFECTLY CLEAR. MERCED DIDN’T SEND SICK DOGS UP HERE “AS USUAL” THE DOGS WERE ALL HEALTHY, ONE GOT SICK AT A FOSTER’S HOME. ALL OF THE OTHER DOGS WERE FINE. THERE WAS A MISCOMMUNICATION BETWEEN MYSELF, & THE SHELTER AS TO WHAT STATE WAS THEIR FINAL DESTINATION & DIFFERENT STATES HAVE DIFFERENT REQUIREMENTS, THE DOGS HAD VACCINES, RABIES SHOTS, &  VALID USDA CERTIFICATE. THOSE PEOPLE DOWN THERE BUST THEIR ASS & SPEND THEIR OWN TIME & MONEY SAVING ANIMALS, IF ALL YOU HAVE TO DO IS TALK CRAP YOU NEED TO GET A LIFE. THOSE SAME PEOPLE DO WHATEVER THEY CAN TO SAVE ANY ANIMAL THEY CAN. THEY DON’T JUST SAVE CUTE LITTLE ADOPTABLE DOGS THEY CAN CHARGE HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS FOR, THEY SAVE ANYTHING WITH FUR. IT IS THEIR BLOOD SWEAT & TEARS THAT DOES IT. NOT YOURS, SO UNTIL YOU STEP UP & DO WHAT THEY DO “STFU”

2) PAWS WAS NOT “FORCED TO CALL THE USDA”, PAWS DID NOT KILL ALL THE DOGS, PAWS WORKED WITH ME FIRST TO GET ALL THE DOGS TO THEIR SHELTER, THEY THEN WORKED WITH THE USDA, TO GET THEM READY TO BE ADOPTED. YES I BOUGHT INTO ALL THE CRAP THAT EVERYONE LIKES TO SAY ABOUT PAWS BUT WHEN IT COUNTED, WHEN THERE WERE ANIMALS IN NEED THEY STEPPED UP TO THE PLATE IN A MAJOR WAY, IT WAS THEIR HEART, THEIR TIME, THEIR MONEY, THEIR RESOURCES THEY USED TO HELP THOSE DOGS. NO ONE ELSE WANTED TO DO ANYTHING, SO WHY TALK ABOUT SOMEONE WHO ACTUALLY DID? PAWS PAID FOR EACH DOGS HEARTWORM TEST WHICH WAS THE ONLY THING THEY NEEDED, THEY ARE VETTING THEM ALL AT A GREAT COST TO THEM RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF PUPPY & KITTEN SEASON. WHEN THE ECONOMY IS DOWN, DONATIONS ARE ALMOST NON-EXISTENT & THEY DON’T HAVE AN ON CALL VET SO THEY ARE NOT GOING TO MAKE A DIME OFF OF THESE DOGS.

I AM DONE BUYING INTO ALL THE GOSSIP & INNUENDOS & NO PAWS DIDN’T TELL YOUR STUPID *SS I WAS A HOARDER, THEY WOULDN’T DO THAT BECAUSE IT LEAVES THEM OPEN TO BE SUED, IT WAS YOU THAT TOLD THEM THAT CHRISTINE. YOU & YOUR LOON BIN FRIEND CAN GO SCREW YOURSELF. IF YOU WANT TO SCREW WITH ME BRING IT!!! WHY WOULD YOU WANT TO SCREW WITH ANIMALS? I TAKE THAT PERSONALLY. ACCORDING TO YOU I LIVE IN SQUALOR BECAUSE I DON’T HAVE A YARD & ONLY HAVE A 1 BEDROOM APARTMENT? HOW ABOUT I POST ALL THE EMAILS YOU SEND ME ABOUT WHAT A PIECE OF SHIT YOUR HUSBAND IS SO THE WHOLE WORLD CAN SEE HOW YOU TALK ABOUT BEING TRAPPED IN YOUR LOVELESS MARRIAGE. SHUT YOUR MISERABLE PITIFUL YAP ABOUT MERCED, PAWS, & ME. BRING THE DOGS BACK YOU STOLE & GET AS FAR AWAY FROM ME AS YOU CAN OR YOU WILL BE GOING TO COURT SOON. REMEMBER CHRISTINE I SAVE ALL OF MY EMAILS, EVERY SINGLE ONE. PLEASE REMEMBER THAT.

This flu is still kicking my keister, but that is to be expected. I had someone try to trick me but instead I got a very special treat.

On Wednesday I went to Portland to do a transport, I was pulling some dogs from a shelter for what I thought was a couple rescues. The agreement was they would give me gas money. So on the way, 1 backed out, so I called another, then on my way back the first one took their dogs, but had no gas money. Then my back up failed on me, so here I am on my way home with a carload of dogs.

For those of you who don’t know in order to bring a dog across state lines you must have a health certificate. There are different tests required for different states but you have to have a USDA health certificate. I usually stick to Washington state but have gone across the 5 state area & never had a problem.

I just moved into where I am & I am still not unpacked & we still have to do a lot of remodeling. I have a car load of little dogs so I figured I could get other rescues to take them since they would be easy to adopt out, but everyone is full. I am not taking in dogs, we have our 2 foster dogs, but that is about all I can handle, so I asked a person who fosters for another rescue to foster til I got these dogs out to other rescues.

We are in a one bedroom & have no back yard of our own so this was going to be challenging at best. I get baby gates for the different rooms & separate the boys from the girls, the big dog from the little dogs, & of course my bulldog gets the bedroom. I have been on my hands & knees scrubbing floors, doing kennel rotations, giving baths, feeding, keeping written records, sorting everyone out, learning their personalities, giving eye drops ear drops, flea meds, wormers, benadryl, antibiotics, & keeping weights & temps. I was not set or ready for any dogs, let alone that many, & to top it off I got the flu, & it turned into about 3 secondary infections. Most of the dogs were emaciated, so they needed extra food & nutritional support, they had eye infections, ear infections, fleas & tapeworms.

Someone told me that in this state you have to have a HW test for the dogs & because of a miscommunication with the original shelter they didn’t get one!!! Great Good God!!! I called the USDA to find out what I was supposed to do now, but now I can’t give the dogs away til I get it figured out.

Remember I said I had a foster take 2 poodles for me? Well she took some of the dogs  to foster as well a coupe of days before, but ended up bringing most of them back the next day.  I had someone ask about adopting one of the poodles & she went NUTBALLS!!! Seriously, started talking about my 1 bedroom, why would I want that many dogs, & since my neighbor wanted to adopt & pay for a needed hip surgery for a puppy she had, he was a piece of crap because he didn’t have a yard & on & on & on. I told her I had an agency taking the dogs then she starts flipping out saying the dogs were going to be killed & how could I. Hey stupid I live in a 1 bedroom apt with no yard & there is no way in hell I want that many dogs in a bad dream, & I didn’t ask for the dogs for myself, I was just supposed to do transport. As I said I am not taking dogs in right now. The bottom line is she wants to keep the poodles, but they are not my property I am fostering them. So the owner is going to call the police & have them go to her house to get her dogs back but… (WHY IS THERE ALWAYS A BUT???) she emails me today saying the shelter dogs are pooping every 1/2 hour & she has 2 washers & dryers going & that she won’t give me back the dogs. We had all the dogs tested & I kept the dogs she had separate from the other ones I had here & it is a good thing because the big one she brought back tested a faint positive TWICE for parvo. Which means that one was exposed to the parvo virus. All of the other dogs tested fine, & they tested them twice as well. So in my 1 bedroom apt I managed to keep them all safe & get them healthy enough to hit the adoption floor at the shelter running. All they needed was their mandatory vaccines again minus the rabies, yet at her big fancy house she managed to let them get exposed to parvo, even though she claims she has cleaned it all up from the last time. So there are 3 dogs, that are in danger at her house, the Poodles were UTD on their vaccines, but that is no guarantee. She had a parvo outbreak a bout a year ago & the way she talks she is Mrs Clean, so we figured the danger was over. So herein lies the problem. She is withholding medical attention from the dogs in order to keep them from me & to hide them from me, the general concensus is that the dogs I had were fine, the dog she brought back was exposed so it is her property that is infected. The POOR shelter in California did testing on all the dogs there to verify it didn’t come from there as well. Since I had the original shelter transfer all the paperwork to this new shelter I had no control over what happened to the animals once I turned them over. They had intakes today of over 80 dogs, & since the dog had a light positive he was put down, so she has already caused the death of 1 dog, the others are probably dying a little every day. He was not sick, he showed no signs of anything, he came all the way from one shelter to another just to die because I trusted this woman. She thinks this is funny she actually sent me this in an email:

You should have learned NOT TO TRUST ANYBODY you don’t know like the back of your hand.
You trusted Rose.
You trusted Patty.
You trusted me.
We’ve all let you down
Don’t trust anybody further than you can throw them and you being such a tiny thing that is probably but a few feet!

These are the kinds of BITCHES you have to deal with in rescue. a woman who complains about what an abusive drunk POS her husband is, tells me all the time I should feel sorry for her because she is trapped in a loveless marriage to a man who has paid over 25k in vet bills, built her a beautiful home, taken in her kids, paid her way through everything, puts up with her lies & built her a mini city for her dogs. What a POS he is, bad bad man, no cookie for you!!! Sorry honey but the only place you’re going to find sympathy around here is in the dictionary between shit & syphilis.
The owner of the Poodles is going to call the police & then she will have to deal with that, the USDA is going to quarantine her place & the dogs are the property of the shelter so she can deal with them now. Oh & after my court hearing I am going down to file a civil suit at which time I will post all of the information. No matter about all of this, she won’t respond to my emails so I don’t know what is going on with the dogs, the longer she waits to take the dogs to a vet the more chance it is they will die, worse yet, she will continue to take in dogs & they will continue to suffer. I don’t know if the poodles are okay & the owner is going to have to find a place to quarantine them as well, but are they in pain, are they hurting, are they safe, are they even alive? Is that the reason she doesn’t want to bring them back?  She is right, I shouldn’t have trusted her, it has cost the life of one dog, & it may cost 5 more. It can be anytime within the next few weeks for them  to get sick, the incubation period can be up to 3 weeks, or it can strike as quick as in 3 days. One of the dogs is a puppy, so he will be the first to die, the other 2 were vaccinated last month so hopefully they have enough anti-bodies. The Poodles were due this month for vaccines so hopefully they have enough antibodies as well.

This is rescue, these are the kinds of people who are in it. The shelters can only do so much, so we are supposed to be a safety net. Instead it is all about a bunch of crazy insecure, narrow minded, hateful thieving lying mentally unbalanced women trying to outdo each other or destroy one another. They act like they are helping you & then turn around & email everyone to tell them what a POS you are & how they had to save you because you are such a low life. It is not supposed to be about ANY of us, it is supposed to be about dogs, or cats or animals, but it is all an ego fest.

So if you have ever tried to get a dog from a rescue & been turned down, just remember there is an egomanial insecure, controlling, snob on the other end, who is so lacking in life the only power they have is to hurt others, to dangle pets in front of you like a treat, so they can scrutinize you & your life & put you down so they can feel better about their pathetic existence. Please don’t feel bad if you don’t own your own home, or if you don’t make hundreds of thousands of dollars a year, there are still a few rescues out here that KNOW that money & status don’t make a good pet owner, love care & concern is what makes a good pet owner.

Oh but wait, it gets better!!! Remember I said I had called the USDA? So did 2 other people anonymously of course… The good news is I called before they did, not thinking anyone else would but because I was freaked out about having that many dogs & spending every last dime I didn’t have to get stuff for them.

I know I say some people can have 14 dogs & do okay, some people can only handle 1 or 2. I can handle having about 4 because for me, it breaks my heart when you have so many dogs that they are fighting for attention & not getting it, the whole point of having companion animals is for companionship but it goes both ways, they are willing to do anything for you, to give all of themselves, & honestly I do rescue but the reason I can is because I am happy when a dog gets adopted because it means I can spend more time with my own dogs. I serve a purpose, to hold them for a while so they can find their own homes. I get attached & I cry when they leave but when I am taking a long walk with my own dogs, or rolling around on the carpet with them or snuggled up in bed with them there is a part of me that is relieved. Those other dogs are in a good home & I get some extra time with my own babies.

Today was also an eye-opener, I was at the shelter while they were taking in truckloads of dogs from another shelter & I really really mean truckloads, 3 of them!!! I watched them handle these dogs, I watched them coo at them cuddle them, & it occurs to me that this place isn’t as bad as everyone had me believing. They cried with me when I cried for the boy who had been exposed, they protected me from the pain of watching him leave this earth, they comforted me in spite of all of the things they had going on. I’ll let everyone know who it is once I file my suit & after court this week. So you will have the names of the people involved & companies as well as the shelters which I hope you will make a donation to! Next week is going to be an eye-opening blast for everyone so stay tuned! 8)

It is so easy to become overwhelmed in rescue, it costs money you don’t have, it destroys your health, it breaks your heart & it erodes your faith in human beings, but when a new owner connects with a lost little soul who last month was on death’s door, thrown away like garbage, to see the joy in them being together, that makes it all worth it.

I know that the 2 rescues set me up, one has been in trouble with the USDA previously, so they knew full well about the required tests, I realized when the 2 calls came in today, but the thing about me is I can’t lie, I could but I am too much of a scatter brain to keep a lie together because you have to keep adding to it. I was also rewarded for my honesty as well, they are working with me to teach me more about the regulations, I got to watch behind the scenes, a wonderful shelter in action at full speed ahead. I can sleep tonight knowing that those little babies are going to have a chance at a new life, they have clean water, good food, medical attention, room to run around, lots of volunteers & fosters to love on them & give them the special attention they deserve until they find their own family. How sweet is that? No matter how ugly these women are, they can’t take the joy out of saving a life. It also gives me a smile when I think that these people have NOTHING better to do than to focus on me, sad yet funny. I don’t even have to wait to watch them “Get theirs” being who they are & being such miserable self loathing women is punishment enough.

wordpress visitor
One thought on “Trick or Treat? I love it when this happens!!! (UPDATED 11/12/11)

Leave a Reply

